Thoughts on Becoming a Fujoshi: Hadaka Shitsuji

http://www.pixiv.net/member_illust.php?mode=medium&illust_id=28349692

I lost my lesbian mahjong powers a few hours ago and decided to become a fujoshi.

However, I don’t have much experience in watching mansnog. And fujoshi-oriented works tend to be boring. Otoges and BL works always seem to try to be boring anyway. Why are they so dull? I’m not sure why this is the case. Often, the writing style is contrived and uninteresting. Sometimes, it can be unintentionally hilarious; the vampire VN DRAMAtical Murder rampaging through the storm has a synopsis that looks like it’s written by a horny chuuni five year old girl. It’s like these people have no soul and exist only to ship narcissistic bishies.

Oh, I just got word that that’s their raison d’etre.

そうですか…

Well, I’m not sure why I would become a fujoshi. Also, how did that idea exist in the first place? God, I must be tired from college and stuff. Maybe I should recharge my lesbian mahjong powers by watching more Saki MADs, reading SonoHana VNs, and maybe retweet more @akari_daisuki tweets.

I’ll just check Tumblr a bit. You see, Kastel imagines he is a little girl and thinks the internet is a nice place for little girls to hang out. Especially Tumblr. They’re all filled with nice people. No one there is evil.

Ah, what’s this?


Why am I licking my lips as if I just saw something juicy? While it is true I have a thing for traps and maids (both will be heavenly), this is different. It is awakening something inside me: A sadistic me that I never knew existed. I after all consider myself a M because I enjoy watching terrible shows and love to suffer (watashi wa mahou shoujo desu!).

Is Hadaka Shitsuji the one work that will convert me to a fujoshi?

Hmm~. After playing it, I was given some interesting tidbits of information from fellow VN reader goldensneer. The scenario writer also drew the game, meaning he has a lot of creative freedom. He can do anything he wants; he also doesn’t seem to care about the audience. Rather, it’s written to piss them off. In fanficverse, it’s a trollfic.

Why piss off the audience? Isn’t the artist supposed to pander to people’s desires and lust especially if the said work is a nukige?

The reason is simple: it’s to make us tsuntsun and then deredere.

Hadaka Shitsuji plays on our expectations that this will be an ordinary BL nukige with sexy butler bishies. The trolliest route has to be Arisato, the shota in the game. At first, he seems like an ordinary, clumsy kid. Cute but somewhat unmemorable.

Then, the plot happens.

It turns out Arisato has a severe case of inferiority complex and is a natural masochist. He is intentionally clumsy to get attention; he breaks plates and vases for just his sake. It’s just like how toddlers go on a tantrum to get their parents’ attention away from the Red Sox game.

Our protagonist, Tomoaki, tries to keep his cool around him. But he finally loses it and gives a helping hand:


This scene plays on the fact we expect Tomoaki will try to help him. Instead, he dominates him. This is the premise of Hadaka Shitsuji: control the lives of your butler in the most sadistic fashion possible.

The absurdity of the visual novel is indescribable. In the CG event leading up to Sakuma’s route, Sakuma finds Tomoaki masturbating in his room. And Tomoaki forces Sakuma to watch him masturbate. Intentionally written to be hilarious, this scene is probably one of my favorites. Its humor is so disturbing you have to laugh anyway.

And so, an unsuspecting fujoshi might ask, “… Is this meant to be romantic?” I can hear awkward laughs and screams from the fujoshi community. The more one reads Hadaka Shitsuji, the more one will either laugh hysterically or start crying from the terrors of Tomoaki.

This isn’t the naked butler nukige the fujoshi populace wanted. In the rotting graveyard, their favorites include Starry Sky and Hakuoki. Some pure BL fans might not like those and theirs come from the hell of a zombie-laden world: Lamento, Sweet Pool, and more. Few people could probably fap to Hadaka Shitsuji because if it was written to pander, it would be targeting the most most most most perverted BL fans in the world.

Because of this, the VN relies on a different type of marketing: shock. Even though I enjoyed reading it, there’s some uncomfortable moments that faze me. It’s like intentionally watching a horror film; you want to start hiding under the bed after seeing the corpse climb outside the well.

So maybe this VN won’t make me a fujoshi. Hadaka Shitsuji feels more like a horror work (in the ‘shock’ sense) than an actual BL nukige. It hates its audience. No, let me rephrase that: it wants to torture them and make them cry.

And we definitely can’t leave out their tears. For the skeptic who thinks this VN is merely child’s play, here are some omoshiroi tumblr posts:

fandomfacet’s reaction to Arisato’s route:

No, you FUCKERS.
The proper response when somebody “isn’t mentally sound” isn’t being embarrassed or scolding him.

What you have to do is get him psychological help. Shocking, I know. I bet you wouldn’t come up with that in a thousand years.

This game, I swear……..

Kanracakes on Komine’s route:

THIS GAME JUST GOT REALLY FUCKED UP WHAT DO I DO
THE MAIN CHARACTER WANTS TEH CCHEF TO COOK WITH HIS CUM WHAT THE FUCK

gamingbutterfly’s thoughts on Tomoaki:

I don’t even…

what the fuck is buried in Tomoaki’s subconscious…

he is seriously on some horrible trip, which only gets worse the longer he stays in the mansion…

/goes back to ‘Alice’ and ‘Lady Tomomi’/

And for more hilarity, the fan translator, Good_Haro, has compiled a series of her favorite tumblr posts.

So what does this all mean? Should the average VN reader read it?

I think so. It’s not a classic like Tsukihime nor is it something you can fap to on a daily basis. While it is well-written, it’s not something you see eroge experts worshipping. But this work is different. It gives us hope that artists can still be assholes to everyone. Hadaka Shitsuji didn’t make me a fujoshi but it makes me realize that there are good works in the abysses of hell.

And sometimes, they might just be a hate letter to everyone who worships this occult religion.

http://www.pixiv.net/member_illust.php?mode=medium&illust_id=5056811
7 thoughts on “Thoughts on Becoming a Fujoshi: Hadaka Shitsuji

  1. Hitokiri April 17, 2013 / 6:26 am

    FYI, it’s そうですか, with a う in there.

  2. Ciarre July 16, 2013 / 4:21 am

    Late, but… Narcissistic? What kind of a synopsis did you read? I personally enjoyed sweet pool/dmmd/lamento/etc. but eh

    Hadaka Shitsuji is hilarious. I love how the true routes just basically punch you in the face and have the butlers suffer forever. Like, being a human vase. Lolwut. Tomoaki is an awful human being but he’s a highly entertaining character so he gets a pass from me.

  3. Fujoshi July 18, 2013 / 3:42 am

    When I first came across Hadaka Shitsuji, it was a discussion between us, the fujoshi(s). I got curious about the game, mainly because of my butlers fetish. They warned me about how sick and sadist is the game, but I decided to venture into it.
    When I first started out, I cringed at how Sakuma was being treated. I was bitching about the route, and my friends told me that is the tamest route.
    After I played Ichinose and Komine’s route, I was like omg that’s so sick. A human vase? A cum ramen?
    But after I get over the sick part, I started to enjoy the game. We even joked about how the house has a sadist power, that turn Tomoaki into a dominating master all that.
    Well, all in all, I enjoyed this game very much, despite the crazy side to it.

  4. Sarah December 3, 2013 / 7:55 am

    I love this game… so SO much. I’m a major fictional sadist and this type of game is right up my alley. XD

    • Kastel December 7, 2013 / 7:55 pm

      I’m a masochist by nature. I think all types on the sadomasochism spectrum can enjoy it. Beautiful game, wud cry again.

  5. Francesca Lia Sidoti February 18, 2015 / 12:25 pm

    Well Hadaka Shitsuji made me cringe, fap and laugh my ass off (sometimes contemporarily, often not). I’m going to hell ain’t I?

Leave a Reply

